2020 Volley Award Winners

Last Saturday 10th October, the volleyball community of WA came together to celebrate the achievements of our athletes, clubs and association in 2020 and the 60th anniversary of the organization. In such an unprecedented year, it was a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the sport.

As the doors opened to the Grand Ballroom at the Hyatt Regency hotel, guests were greeted with a 60’s theme display which set the scene for a birthday celebration like no other. The evening was officially opened by the MC Abid Imam and Volleyball WA CEO Robyn Kuhl, who gave a heartfelt speech to the crowd.

The awards began with Maksim Bacovic taking out the Male Beach Player of the Year and Shelby Maher receiving the Female Beach Player of the Year. We then acknowledged our Indoor Beach Champions teams and awarded Kable Monck and Jen Sadler with the 2019 AVL Most Valuable Player Steel Man and Woman respectively.  

The Indoor Volleyball Awards were next, with an array of WAVL Division Most Valuable Players receiving awards, with the prestigious State League Indoor Players of the Year awarded to Kable Monck and Shelby Maher.

Volleyroo athlete Luke Perry gave some great insight into his training mindset and approach during the lockdown period whilst receiving the Indoor International Player of the Year award, which he shares with Jen Sadler.

Five dedicated volunteers received an Order of Merit during the evening; Hiedi Haake, Jenny Harris, Michelle Hilbrands, Sharon Parker and Wendy Tregenza, for their dedicated commitment to their clubs and the sport.

We also acknowledged the tremendous achievements of Paul Prindiville and David Hedge and welcomed them as they received their Volleyball WA Life Memberships. It was fantastic to hear some close personal insights of their time spent in the sport.

Some outstanding volunteers and individuals were recognized for their contribution to the organization; Young Leader of the year was awarded to Dylan Wood, Referee of the Year to Dani Francis and Coach of the Year to Mitchell Collins.

Finally, we celebrated club achievements with Reds Volleyball Club taking out the coveted Volleyball WA Club of the Year.

All award winners from the evening can be found below.

A massive congratulations to all of our finalists and winners. What a wonderful night it was and Volleyball  WA would like to thank all guests once again for attending the 2020 Volley Awards Night.

Beach Volleyball

Junior Female Beach Player of the Year – Alexia Zammit & Cassie Dodd

Male Regional Beach Player of the Year – Chris Adams

Female Regional Beach Player of the Year – Asha Parsons

Male Beach Team of the Year – Dylan Phillips & Ryan Penno

Female Beach Team of the Year – Jana Orszaghova & Taleah Atthowe,

Male Beach Player of the Year – Maksim Bacovic

Female Beach Player of the Year – Shelby Maher

Indoor Beach Volleyball

Indoor Beach Super League Ladies One Winners – Osborne Park

Most Valuable Player – Liz Slepecki

Indoor Beach Super League Mens One Winners – Joondalup

Most Valuable Player – Mark van Winsen

Indoor Beach Super League Mixed One Winners – Canning Vale

State Representation

2019 AVL Most Valuable Player Steel Men – Kable Monck

2019 AVL Most Valuable Player Steel Women – Jennifer Sadler

Indoor Volleyball

Indoor Junior Male Player of the Year – Korben Phillips & Joshua Howat

Indoor Junior Female Player of the Year – Caitlin Whincup

2020 WA Volleyball League Most Valuable Player Awards

Division 4 Male  – Khye Gomez

Division 3 Female  – Bronte Ceresa

Division 3 Male  – Hoang Nguyen

Division 2 Female – Shelley Jones

Division 2 Male – Jedsen Monck

Division 1 Female – Christie Daniels

Division 1 Male – Dixter Timogtimog

State League Reserve Female – Jamie Ling,

State League Reserve Male – Damon Lewis

State League Female –, Shelby Maher

State League Male – Kable Monck

International Awards

International Player of the Year – Beach – Cole Durant

International Player of the Year – Indoor – Jennifer Sadler & Luke Perry

Recognition Awards

Young Leader of the Year – Dylan Wood

Junior Coach of the Year – Jordan Fancote

Club/Community Coach of the Year – Joshua Court
Coach of the Year –
Mitchell Collins

Junior Referee of the Year – William Dundas

Referee of the Year – Dani Francis

Discover Volleyball Ambassador – Rossmoyne Volleyball Club

Administrator of the Year – Meredith Wilmott & Cindy Lewis

Club Awards

Beach Volleyball Champion Club of the Year – The HUB

Indoor Beach Volleyball Club of the Year – Joondalup Indoor Beach Volleyball

Robyn Fittock Indoor Club of the Year – Reds Volleyball Club

John McKay Regional Club of the Year – Busselton Volleyball Association

Volleyball WA Club of the Year – Reds Volleyball Club

Order of Merit

Michelle Hilbrands – Balcatta Volleyball Club

Sharon Parker  – Northern Stars Volleyball Club

Heidi Haake – Mandurah Volleyball Association

Wendy Tregenza – Mandurah Volleyball Association

Jen Harris – ECU Chequers Volleyball Club

Life Membership

Paul Prindiville

David Hedge