2024 Youth Beach State Teams Announced

The countdown is on for our Youth Beach State Teams as they prepare to travel to Coolangatta for the 2024 Australian Youth Beach Volleyball Championships (AYBVC).

The Youth Championships is all about providing a competitive playing opportunity and development pathway for volleyball athletes under the age of 18. State Associations from across Australia and overseas will send their top teams to compete for the championship titles.

“This year’s team is an exciting congregation of talent. Our group of athletes have likened themselves to the beach game very quickly, and I have no doubt that our WA Youth will be an undeniable factor in the National Championships,” Jordan Fancote, Volleyball WA Youth Pathways Coordinator said.

“The teams have come together nicely thanks to a driven and like-minded coaching group. To see some of our top ATABT athletes give back and work alongside our endlessly experienced senior coaches is sensational.”

Senior Head Coach, Rory Read, will spearhead this year’s campaign with the help of Female Head Coach, Gareth Whitehead and Male Head Coach, Jayson Fox.

Volleyball WA is also fortunate enough to have Mandy Combes, former AVSL Head Coach and National U19 Women’s Beach Coach lead the South West program in 2024. This is the first year that the WA delegation will send regional based teams to an interstate competition, which is an exciting prospect for volleyball in WA. The South West athletes will train with Mandy in Busselton and integrate with our metro based athletes in preparation for the Championships.

Congratulations to the following athletes and coaches selected to represent Western Australia in the Youth Beach Championships. The Volleyball WA community wish you the very best of luck.

Head of Delegation: Carol Hodgen

Coaches: Rory Read (Senior Head Coach), Gareth Whitehead (Female Head Coach), Jayson Fox (Male Head Coach), Timothy Everett, Gregory Hunt, Ryan Penno, Jasmine Serra, Tessa Browne, Hannah Walker, Alysha Ely, Romano Fracassini, Adilson Silveira, Oliver Oaten, Conrad Hill, Griffin Bateman, Tara Banks.

*Mandy Combes (South West Lead Coach), Jonathan Hunt, Daniel Piggott (Mentee), Kyla Sanchez (Mentee), Jen Parker and Riley London have also been selected, but will not travel to Coolangatta.

U15 Girls:  Zoe Banks, London Catlin, Sophie Hicks, Angela Savic, Lucy Fergus, Jessica Hodgen, Hanna Kool, Emme Matson-Smith, Madison Eckert, Sophia Moloney, Ella Zaorski

U15 Boys: Levi Chandra, Bodhi Hand, Cameron McCoubrie, Samuel Ho, Kale Gregg, Joshua Killigrew, Kaito Onoshita, Hayden Saw, Jack Auld, Reece Da Silva, Khaiyah Gardiner

U16 Girls: Ava Briggs, Brooke Hurihanganui, Cynthia Aung, Erin Parker, Kaelyn Dale, Keeley Davidson

U16 Boys: Blake Bayliss, Oscar Marsh, Samson Armitage, Jack London, Michael Delany, Alex Zheng, Sabin Martins, Connor Webb, Angus Flower, Connor Kuuse

U17 Girls: Avaiya Moeller, Freya Huxtable, Bridget Gavin, Kaia Tuuta, Caitlin Northmore, Lalita Lerno, Lara Bertolucci, Presley Peppin

U17 Boys: Hayden Baker, Cale Lance, Tyren Aliivaa, Sean Kennedy, Will Rigg, Steven Song, Rayne Traves, Ben Wind

U18 Girls: Ava Tweedie, Rosie Alchin, Holly Hunter, Tara Jorgensen, Kate Field, Ruby McCasker

U18 Boys: Dylan Fissioli, Spencer Teo, Jaxon Neill, Luke Younghusband, Harrison Sartori, Deegan Symes, Rhylee Hand, Anthony McCaughey, Chayse Howitt, Oliver Thursby